Home Making

The Maid was in the Garden

hanging up the clothes. Along came a blackbird and snipped off her nose! ðŸŽ¶

I remember Gramma Allen singing and teaching me Four and Twenty Blackbirds when I was a wee one. She always had a song to sing, a poem to recite, or a story to tell. What a perspective she had on life, having been born in 1894. Her oldest Sister had been born in 1874. They were fascinating ladies, willing to teach and share their collected wisdoms and witticisms.

Today was not a good day for laundry, TeeHee! No blackbirds in the garden, thankfully. A 24″x24″ polyester pillow form disintegrated in the washer and snipped off my nose instead. Bailing out a front load washer that won’t drain, picking out pieces of poly, moving everything out of the laundry room, mopping the floor… Aye, definitely lost my nose this time. Next up: move washer out, remove drain hose, clean said drain hose and drain pipe. Ferverently praying the water pump isn’t damaged.

Funny how one thing leads to another, though. Moving things out of the room lead me to a box of Gramma’s old cook books. I was overwhelmed with a tidal wave of nostalgia. There’s just something about opening a box of books; memories come pouring out. The next thought is, “Oh I must go searching for a barrister. These books need to be protected, on shelves, in the kitchen, so I can use them.” Then the next thought… and the next… and the next… one of my favourite PBS programs was Connections. Maybe the blackbirds got into my head and scattered my thoughts, HaHa!

Best away to removing the rest of the boxes. May not get to the drain hose this afternoon. I can always do laundry the old fashioned way if must needs =}.

TaTa for now!

3 thoughts on “The Maid was in the Garden

  1. They sound like amazing women. It’s so wonderful to have pleasant memories to take you from chores. I, too, heard that song a lot in my young years. My grandmother was born in 1893; a school teacher who taught all her grandchildren how to read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi “Spoon”! Wasn’t it fascinating learning our GrandMothers and elder Aunties stories? During the NASA 1969 moon landing Gramma quipt, “I went from courting in a horse & buggy to seeing a man walk upon the moon.” It was more interesting to talk about her perspectives than the moon mission, HaHa!

      I know I’ll end up writing more about her and other people who eat lasting impressions. Feel free to check in periodically.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment